Monday, September 7, 2009


Initial release : 1969

Deity / Reprise 6378

This spoof LP, produced following a spoof review in Rolling Stone, was recorded by The Cleanliness and Godliness Skiffle Band together with other musicians.


  • I Can't Get No Nookie
  • Duke of Earl
  • Cow Pie
  • I Am the Japanese Sandman
  • The Book of Love
  • Later
  • More or Less Hudson's Bay Again
  • Season of the Witch
  • Saturday Night at the Cow Palace

The musicians involved were possibly;

  • Anne Johnston - guitar, mandolin, woodblocks, vocals
  • Phil Marsh - guitar, vocals
  • Richard Saunders - bass
  • Hank Bradley - fiddle, mandolin, harmonica, vocals
  • Brian Voorhees - harmonica, guitar, vocals
  • (Richard Sussman - piano)
  • (Vic Smith - guitar)
  • (Greg Dewey - drums)

This album had it's beginnings in a spoof album review in Rolling Stone.

The fictitious review, by Greil Marcus, was of a bootleg album by The Masked Marauders, supposedly featuring a super group that involved, among others, Bob Dylan, Mick Jagger, John Lennon, Paul McCartney and George Harrison. It claimed that the album was released without any information as the participants wanted to remain anonymous.

The joke though backfired as many readers of the review believed it and started searching for the album. Rather than admitting the truth at this point Marcus and Langdon Winner got the musicians of the Berkeley group, The Cleanliness and Godliness Skiffle Band, to record songs with titles used in the review and to make it 'convincing' by imitating the various supposed famous participants.


Eric said...

I always wondered if this was the same Richard Saunders who played "Les Nessman" on "WKRP in Cincinnati".

Post a Comment