Tuesday, January 11, 2011


Greendale is the name of an album, movie and graphic novel by Neil Young. Neil Young and Crazy Horse's Greendale, a 10-song rock opera, is set in a fictional California seaside town. Based on the saga of the Green family, the "audio novel" has been compared to the literary classics of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Sherwood Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio for its complexity and emotional depth in exploring a small town in America.

Greendale combines numerous themes on corruption, environmentalism and mass media consolidation into relevant post-9/11 art. The album, concert, film and DVDs have produced a vast divergence of critical opinion ranging from being called "amateur" to being voted as one of the best albums of 2003 by Rolling Stone magazine music critics.

As of 2010, it is the last Neil Young album to feature Crazy Horse.

First Set (Greendale)

1. Falling From Above
2. Double E
3. Devil's Sidewalk
4. Leave The Driving
5. Carmichael
6. Bandit
7. Grandpa's Interview
8. Bringin' Down Dinner
9. Sun Green
10. Be The Rain

Second Set

11. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
12. Like A Hurricane
13. Prisoners Of Rock 'n' Roll
14. The Losing End
15. Sedan Delivery
16. Powderfinger
17. Rockin' In The Free World

Neil Young - vocals, guitar, pump organ

Crazy Horse.....
Frank Sampedro - guitar, keyboards, vocals
Billy Talbot - bass, vocals
Ralph Molina - drums, vocals

The Mountainettes.....
Pegi Young - background vocals
Nancy Hall - background vocals
Susan Hall - background vocals
Twink Brewer - background vocals


Sadness said...

Hows things Dejavu.. i`m asking for some info and if possible to find out if any actual CRAZY HORSE live shows without neil young are out there.. i`m interested in any around the time of the at crooked lake album..
all best and have a great 2011

24HRDEJAVU said...

Sadness I have tried to locate some live Youngless Crazy Horse but so far to no avail

Post a Comment