Wednesday, June 8, 2011


Mike Martinez - Mac Suazo - RC Gariss - Lee Herrera

Heading East on I-10 just about half way across the Land Of Enchantment...New Mexico. It seems that the old mode of transportation may be in need of some repair from a local Garage.
This exit seems like it would be a good place to stop and visit.

Lincoln St. Exit were Albuquerque, New Mexico’s premiere garage/ psych band of the late 60′s, early 70′s. “Drive It” was their first full length LP.Lincoln Street Exit’s sole album is one of those efforts that’s generated considerable attention throughout the collecting community over the years. Formed in 1964, the original line up consisted of Paul Chapman, drummer Lee Herres, singer/guitarist Michael Martin and bassist Mac Suazo. A rarity in that it was one of the few mid-1960s native American rock bands (all four members were New Mexico Sioux) to actively tour and record, the group struggled for six years with little recognition; managing to release three instantly obscure singles during that time frame. By the time the band was signed to the Detroit-based Mainstream label, Chapman had died replaced by guitarist R.C. Gariss. Teamed with producer Brad Shad 1970′s Drive It! served to showcase material from Martin and non-member Tom Bee. Sure the band’s anti-war sentiments (‘Man Machine’ and ‘Time Has Come Gonna Die’) weren’t particularly original or noteworthy. Similarly their isolated stab at pseudo-Gospel (‘Going Back Home’) was at best misguided. On the other hand, propelled by Martin’s likeable voice, tracks such as ‘Dirty Mother Blues,’ ‘Teacher Teacher’ and ‘Straight Shootin’ Man’ offered up a compelling set of blues-oriented hard rock. Ironically the most impressive track was also one of their most commercial effort – the pop-oriented ‘Soulful Drifter’ (which was released as an unsuccessful single). Needless to say, the collection vanished without a trace. Gariss, Herrera, Martin and Suazo subsequently continued their musical collaboration, reappearing as Xit recording a series of mid-1970s LPs for Motown. (forcedexposure).

Track Listing

1. Man Machine
2. Dirty Mother Blues
3. Got You Babe
4. Teacher Teacher
5. Soulful Drifter
6. Time Has Come Gonna Die
7. Going Back Home
8. Straight Shootin’ Man
9. Phantom Child


warlock said...

This is too cool! I have been a fan of XIT for 20+ years and completely missed this.Thank you. Hope all is going well for you and the family. I don't get on here near as much since I started babysitting my grandson but when I do,your blog is always first.

24HRDEJAVU said...

Hey Warlock Hope all is well with you also I have had this a while bit have never heard any Xit Will have to try them out
Glad you check in every so often Bill

Post a Comment