Sunday, November 13, 2011


One of the first acts signed to Bill Graham's Fillmore label, 1969's "Resurrection" teamed the band with producer David Rubinson. As one might have guessed from the album title (let alone the back cover which showed three crosses), their sophomore effort found the band pursuing a pseudo-religious agenda. In spite of occasionally clunky lyrics and an irritating degree of echo, Ceballos-penned material such as "God Is Back In Town," the ballad "Only I Know" and " Today and Tomorrow" wasn't half bad. Boasting a nifty Ceballos guitar solo, the stately title track was our nomination for standout track. Elsewhere, the driving "Bye Bye Baby" and "Little Brown Hen" recalled Quicksilver Messenger Service. Certainly not likely to get top-40 airplay, but San Francisco certainly turned out worse sounding bands. Commercially the set did nothing; the trio calling it quits shortly thereafter.

"Resurrection" track listing:

1.) God Is Back In Town (Wayne Ceballos) -
2.) Resurrection (Wayne Ceballos) -
3.) Only I Know (Wayne Ceballos) -
4.) Bye Bye Baby (Wayne Cebballos) -

1.) Today and Tomorrow (Wayne Ceballos) -
2.) Little Brown Hen (Wayne Ceballos) -
3.) Aum (Wayne Ceballos) -
4.) Pachuko Boogie - Preserve Your Mama (A. Ammons)


Post a Comment