Wednesday, August 20, 2014


An Iron Butterfly Rebirth 
The band reformed in 1974 with Ron Bushy and Erik Brann joined by bassist Philip Taylor Kramer and keyboardist Howard Reitzes. (Kramer later made news with his 1995 disappearance and the discovery of his remains and minivan at the bottom of Decker Canyon in 1999). Brann, who had done occasional lead vocals during Iron Butterfly's original run, served as the band's main lead vocalist. The album Scorching Beauty was released in January 1975 with Reitzes and Sun and Steel in October 1975 with Bill DeMartines replacing Reitzes. Both albums were criticized for bearing little resemblance to the original tone of the group, and sold poorly compared to their earlier releases. Even though these two Lp's did not do well they still have good moments  that kept the Butterfly spirit alive.

 Scorching Beauty 1974
1. 1975 Overture
2. Hard Miseree
3. High on a Mountain Top
4. Am I Down
5. People of the World
6. Searchin' Circles
7. Pearly Gates
8. Lonely Hearts
9. Before You Go

 Sun & Steel 1975
1. Sun and Steel
2. Lightnin'
3. Beyond the Milky Way
4. Free
5. Scion
6. Get It Out
7. I'm Right, I'm Wrong
8. Watch the World Going By
9. Scorching Beauty 


snakeboy said...

A band tries to change and grow and their fans drop them like a bad habit. Thanks for posting these.

24HOURDEJAVU said...

How true you are Snakeboy ! Even though the critics and fan base panned this incarnation of IB I believe they were a vital piece of the bands history

Post a Comment