Saturday, August 22, 2015



Mint Tattoo was born as an offshoot of the legendary 60's proto punk acid band Blue Cheer. Bruce Stephens and Ralph (Burns) Kellogg had played together in Blue Cheer on band's self titled album in 1969, but after that one album, Stephens left the band to pursue other interests. Kellogg stayed on with Blue Cheer until the demise of the band in 1971, but during his tenure with Blue Cheer he reunited with Stephens along with drummer Gregg Thomas to form the band Mint Tattoo. Produced by James William Guercio (Chicago) and engineered by Phil Ramone in New York, the Mint Tattoo is a mixture of blues styled original songs, a cover of classic a blues numbers and some rather uninspired, typical for the era hard rock tunes. Not an overly exciting album, compared to the early Blue Cheer material, but none the less a period piece and better than most material that was being released in the early 70's. 

1 Sister Fleu (First Movement) (3:53)
2 Leper's Epitaph (Second Movement) (1:34)
3 Policeman's Ball (Third Movement) (2:24)
4 Littal Lieu Lieu's Revenge (Fourth Movement) (:15)
5 Faces of Roses (3:37)
6 I'm Talking About You (3:25)
7 Scorpio Woman (6:46)
8 Mark of the Beast (2:37)
9 Moanin' (4:21)
10 With Love (2:30)
11 I Hear the Spirits (3:22)


Post a Comment