Friday, August 28, 2009


Loose Gravel was formed in San Francisco, California, USA, in the early-70s by Mike Wilhelm (guitar/vocals; ex- Charlatans), Kenny Sreight (bass) and Gene Rymer (drums). The line-up also sometimes featured Chris Wilson, later of the Flamin' Groovies. Several tracks they recorded between 1971 and 1972 were later released on Wilhelm's self-titled debut, eventually issued in 1976. These included a searing version of "Styrofoam", later popularised by pub-rockers Ducks Deluxe. Michael Deryckx (bass) and Rol Gjano (drums) then joined Wilhelm and together they recorded two privately-pressed singles, "Frisco Band" and "Gravel Rash'. However, Wilhelm folded the band in 1976 when he joined the Flamin' Groovies. He remained in the line-up for seven years, after which he resumed a low-key solo career that included the album Mean Ol" Frisco in the late 80s. Loose Gravel's Thanks For The Memories meanwhile combines three studio tracks with a live set recorded at the Coffee House, Long Beach, California, in 1976.


Post a Comment