Sunday, December 13, 2009


*********** Thanks ERIC for the Airplane "Flight Log AD"**************

LP 1

  • Come up the Years (Balin/Kantner)
  • White Rabbit (Slick)
  • Comin' Back to Me (Balin)
  • Won't You Try / Saturday Afternoon (Kantner)
  • Greasy Heart (Slick)
  • If You Feel (Blackman/Balin)
  • Somebody to Love (Slick)
  • Wooden Ships (Crosby/Kantner/Stills)
  • Volunteers (Balin/Kantner)
  • Hesitation Blues (Traditional)
  • Have You Seen the Stars Tonite (Kantner/Crosby)
LP 2
  • Silver Spoon (Slick)
  • Feel So Good (Kaukonen)
  • Pretty as You Feel (Casady/Covington/Kaukonen)
  • Milk Train (Creach/Slick/Spotts)
  • Keep on Truckin' (Carleton)
  • Come Again? Toucan (Slick/Freiberg)
  • Sketches of China (Kantner/Slick)
  • Genesis (Kaukonen)
  • Ride the Tiger (Kantner/Slick/Byong Yu)
  • Please Come Back


Jefferson Airplane members;

  • Signe Anderson - vocals
  • Marty Balin - guitar, vocals
  • Jack Casady - bass, guitar
  • Joey Covington - percussion, vocals
  • Papa John Creach - violin
  • Spencer Dryden - percussion, vocals
  • Paul Kantner - guitar, vocals
  • Jorma Kaukonen - guitar, vocals
  • Grace Slick - piano, keyboards, maraccas, recorder, vocals
  • Skip Spence - drums
Flight Log (1966-1976), released in January 1977 RCA 3766 (Grunt 1255). It is a compilation of Jefferson Airplane and Airplane-related tracks, including tracks by Jefferson Starship and Hot Tuna, as well as solo tracks by Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, and Jorma Kaukonen. Although primarily a compilation album, the album includes one previously unreleased song, "Please Come Back" written by Ron Nagle and performed by Jefferson Starship. "Please Come Back" is unavailable on any other release.

Among the session musicians featured on the album are two members of the Grateful Dead and one member of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. David Crosby appears on one track, and Jerry Garcia plays on three tracks, two of which also feature Mickey Hart.

This is my final post in the Grunt Records series. I hope that You have enjoyed them. Hopefully There was something there that you needed or never heard before. I will be taking a Christmas break. In the next week or so I may post a couple of Xmas Holiday items. If not I will see you after Xmas or New Years. Have a safe Holiday Season and don't forget to leave some feedback on the music and site.


Anonymous said...

Bill, your Grunt 'Special' has been assembled with due care and reverence. The layout is as always first class both visually and informatively.
As of late, I've been in and out of Grunt but haven't posted a comment. I wanted to hear some of the sounds and today I listened to PERRO and to Papa Creach, both went down well and left a good taste, so thanks for them.
I'll pass on this comp as downloading for one track is not 'needed' by me.
However, I'm a bit down, as being (relatively)new to the downloading side of things (since Feb this year)I was not au feit with the 'music-industry' stance and so I've found that some 'poor souls' are being hammered in the courts for downloading 'copyright material' while 'serious' offenders like you know who are getting off with blue murder and such like at the cutting edge, where it hurts ie in the streets where blood is flowing etc.
IT just got to me and one wonders what the future holds......
JUST what Grunt would make of these shaky times one don't know....

Well another Christmas is upon us and may HIS spirit pour down and cover us in Peace, Love and Harmony.

Have a great break....make sure the dogs get a bite to eat as well as yourself and all those dear to you.

Cy from Pck.

Post a Comment