Thursday, July 11, 2013


In late 1978 legendary San Francisco concert producer made a comeback after being out of the music business for many years. Chet Helms put together another "Tribal Stomp" gathering. Here are six of the seven discs or files as  it were. As always I have taken the liberty of creating some of my own work for you to feast your mortal eyes on. The second image is the original artwork from the bootleg set. The first posting here features some of San Francisco's poets. The poets were always a big part of the "hippie" movement with some of the folks having had history in the late 50's and early 60's as members of the beat generation.

Disc 1

The Poets

01. Chet Helms Introduction to the TRIBAL STOMP
02. Wavey Gravy introduces the poets including the POET chant

Michael McClure
03. Introduces Poem, “Listen Laurance”
04. Listen Laurance
05. A Spritual Nation (missing start from tape flip)
06. The Rose
07. The Powers That Be
08. I Work With The Shape Of Spirit
09. Prayer To The Godess Of Mercy
10. I Am The Dead Coyotee on the Asphalt
11. Mens Lives are Chains Of Chances
12. Introduces Lenour

Lenore Kandel

13. What Tribe?
14. Mixed Feelings
15. A Spiritual Poem
16. American Dreams
17. Introduces Diane

Diane Di Prima

18. Excerpt from Revolutionary Letters (#1)
19. Revolutionary Letters (#2)
20. Everyone Is A Political Prisoner
21. Ode To Elegance
22. Life Chant


Petty Vendetta said...

Nice one - thanks for sharing.


Anonymous said...

I've tried without luck to find this. Thank you for sharing. I'm looking forward to the rest.-steVe

Anonymous said...

When I try to get the cover art the first cover with the naked folk opens as #2 the Freak Brothers.
Thanks for the great post.

24HOURDEJAVU said...

You should be able to get it now Computers.... can never figure them out

Anonymous said...

I agree about the computers-But your way ahead of me.
Thanks for the fix

Post a Comment