Friday, March 1, 2013


The Varrick label was created by the Rounder parent company in the early 80's as a home for more contemporary projects, and it turned out to suit Doug Sahm for one album, despite arguments that a band into its third decade is hardly contemporary. The label doesn't seem to have asserted the kind of rigid production control that has prevented similar sessions from catching fire. This was recorded in San Francisco with three of the original Sir Douglas Quintet members on board; the group is rounded out by two second generation players whose background with Sahm is hardly fleeting; bassist Speedy Sparks is even a former Sahm roadie. What this album lacks is a single, bomb-bursting all-out hit, and the closest the group comes might be the first two songs with their fine Tex Mex grooves and melancholy romantic lyrics. There are no real low points, however, as the material has a consistently sincere rootsy point of view. The playing is always catchy and to the point, never overly polished or mechanical from over-rehearsing. Perhaps the strongest influence from Rounder might be the lack of psychedelic or garage rock material; despite their success with George Thorogood the label was sure to push the more respectable Tex Mex sound. This means this is an album closer in sound to some of the Texas Tornados recordings than a typical Sir Douglas Quintet outing. ~ Eugene Chadbourne, All Music Guide


01  who were you thinking of
02  down to saying goodbye
03  adios mexico
04  village girl
05  wicked wicked woman
06  i know you know
07  if this ain't love
08  velma from selma
09  got it bad for you
10  tomorrow just might cgange
11  rolling blues


Post a Comment